Gluten-free Chocolate Cookies

My second cousin Shelly lives in Pennsylvania and she has 2 sons that I met last summer. Shelly just had heart surgery a few weeks ago and one of her sons has a gluten allergy, so God told me that I should bake them some gluten-free cookies to brighten their day! 🙂

I found a recipe online that I wanted to make them called “gluten-free vegan chocolate sandwich cookies” but I had a hard time finding all of the ingredients, so I ended up doing a lot of research and finally making my own gluten-free cookie recipe. I am happy to say that they turned out pretty good and I hope Jonah and Nicholas (and Shelly, too) like them very much! We’re mailing them today!

Ingredients:

  • 1-3/4 cups gluten-free flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/3 organic brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup organic cane sugar
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seed oil
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk, unsweetened
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions:

Sift flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside this mixture. In a large bowl, combine brown sugar, sugar cane and oil. Beat until creamy. Mix in coconut milk and vanilla extract. Add flour mixture and stir until combined. Refrigerate dough for one hour. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Put balls of cookie dough on cookie sheet and then squish them down so they won’t spread. Bake for 8-10 minutes.

Gluten-free cookies

God, please heal Shelly and watch over her kids as Shelly gets stronger and heals. Please have these cookies be a blessing to them and have every life she touches be blessed. Amen ❤

Vicky 🙂

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Gluten-free Chocolate Cookies

  1. Diana Erben March 11, 2013 at 10:36 am Reply

    You have a wonderful heart, my darlling Vicky. I know they will lve the love cookies. grandma

  2. coleen hayden March 11, 2013 at 4:56 pm Reply

    look really good! we do quite a bit of gluten-free baking around here (my grandson, my daughter and my son-in-law) all have varying degrees of gluten intolerance. may i share a gf baking tip? use parchment or baking paper on your cookie sheets (relatively inexpensive); nothing sticks! happy baking, vicky! xo

    • vickysmidt2013 March 13, 2013 at 3:00 pm Reply

      Thanks Coleen for the tip I’ll keep that in mind when I’m baking next

  3. Shauna March 13, 2013 at 8:00 am Reply

    Very sweet of you and the cookie recipe sounds amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

