The Gooiest Chocolate Cookies

Being homeschooled…. I have a little bit more time on my hands than the average 14 year old. I really like to bake and I really like to make people happy…. SO….. this blog was born.

I bought this book at Barnes and Noble 1001 Cupcakes, Cookies and Other Tempting Treats by Suzanna Tee. I have decided to bake things from this book (and from other good recipes I find) and give them to people God puts on my heart who I know might need some home-baked love to put a smile on their face. I will be telling you about who God wants me to bake for, what I am baking them, I will be giving you the recipe and telling you about my anonymous goodie drop-off!

I hope you are as excited about this as I am 🙂

The first person I will be baking for is a good friend of our family. Her kids have been sick lately and so has her dad. She has been very busy taking care of everyone and then she just got sick too, so I think she would really like to know that someone is thinking and praying for her and her family (and eat some tasty treats!)

Here is the recipe for The Gooiest Chocolate Cookies on page 148 of the book I mentioned above:

Ingredients:ingredients

  • 8 tbsp butter, softened
  • 1-1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 7 oz. semi-sweet chocolate, chopped
  • 5.5 oz. milk chocolate, chopped

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 large baking sheets with non-stick parchment paper (I use stoneware so I skipped that step.) Place butter and sugar in a large bowl and beat together until light and fluffy. Place the egg and vanilla extract in separate bowl and whisk together. Then, gradually add to the butter mixture and beat until smooth. Mix in the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt until well combined. Add 3.5 ounces each of the semi-sweet and milk chocolate and then mix well.

Spoon 6 heIMG_7651aping tablespoons of batter onto each baking sheet, spacing them well apart. Divide the remaining chocolate among the cookies and press in lightly.

Bake in preheated oven for 15-17 minutes. Let cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool.

The cookies turned out how I wanted them to. They tasted really good and today I am going to deliver them anonymously. I really hope she likes them. 🙂

IMG_7653

Dear God,

I pray that my friend feels better and that You are with her and her family. Heal her and I hope she loves the cookies ❤ In Jesus’ name I pray, amen.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “The Gooiest Chocolate Cookies

  1. coleen hayden January 31, 2013 at 8:42 am Reply

    praying that God answers your prayer as you bake it forward, vicky! ❤

  2. CG January 31, 2013 at 10:39 am Reply

    What an awesome heart you have, Vicky. I will enjoy following your blog and look forward to trying your recipes. God bless you as you share the “sweetness” of your heart!

  3. Dana January 31, 2013 at 12:10 pm Reply

    I love that your blog is not just about baking, but about who you are baking for and why! What a great ministry!

  4. Michelle N. January 31, 2013 at 5:04 pm Reply

    Vicky – what a great idea! It is so wonderful to get home baked goods and makes you feel so loved and the. To be prayed over and for too! Awesome! Nokia a great choice to since chocolate can help with the antioxidants and give her some of that extra energy she has been pumping out to take care of her family! What a neat thing! Can’t wait to see what else you come up with! ❤

    • vickysmidt2013 February 1, 2013 at 8:09 am Reply

      Thank you, reading these comments really makes my day:) you’re awesome

  5. Michelle N. January 31, 2013 at 5:06 pm Reply

    That was suppose to be SUCH a great choice not Nokia… Thanks autocorrect. Lol. =)

  6. Diane January 31, 2013 at 8:17 pm Reply

    Vicky,

    This blog totally brought a smile to my heart! You have such an amazing heart and I think this is AWESOME!!! Thanking God for YOU and for answering your precious prayers!

  7. Melanie Shannon February 1, 2013 at 1:31 pm Reply

    What a wonderful awesome! Can’t wait to read more and to try these cookies. Nothing makes a day better than chocolate chip cookies.

Leave a Reply

